Spalding’s lost river

Spalding’s lost river

GEMS FROM THE ARCHIVE: A monthly column by DR MARTIN BLAKE, of the Spalding Gentlemen’s Society, looking at interesting artefacts from its museum In 1731 John Grundy Sr, a notable surveyor and hydraulic engineer, arrived in Spalding to survey the area for local...
Grundy records Wykeham Hall

Grundy records Wykeham Hall

Grundy records what Wykeham Hall would have looked like in the early 1700’s. Does anybody have contacts with the current owner to ask if we could photograph the build and record its...
Grundy Map – 1732 and Chain Bridge

Grundy Map – 1732 and Chain Bridge

This lovely old map was produced Grundy in 1732 and shows Spalding of the Time. The Grundy map also includes views of Spalding around the edge. Today’s view is of Chain Bridge originally to the left of the Chain Bridge Forge. This bridge lasted till 1844 and it...
%d bloggers like this: